Monday, November 3, 2008

The Reliable Detroit Lions

In a world full of uncertainty, there is one thing you can count on......the Lions will find a way to lose! Hey, at least they're consistent :) After being down 10-0, the Lions looked like a real NFL football team when they put up 20 unanswered points against the Bears on Sunday. "Holy crap", I thought, "are the Lions really gonna do this?" They looked great and then, in a twist of fate, Orton went down with an injury. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying I like to see players get hurt, but once I saw Orton go down while the Lions had the lead I was feeling pretty confident that my team could win this game. However, lingering in the back of my head was the realization that this is the Detroit Lions, and even when it seems impossible for them to lose they seem to find a way to blow it. I tried to block it out, but as the game slowly unraveled and the Bears came back, I threw up my hands in disbelief...unreal.

This week, it was announced that Culpepper is officially a Lion. There has been speculation regarding who will be starting this weekend - Culpepper, Orlovsky or Stanton - and the coaches refuse to let the media know who their choice is. It was written that Orlovsky would be out for 4 weeks because of a sprained thumb, but when he was asked about it, Orlovsky said that he would be ready to play on Sunday. Personally, if Dan is ok to play, I think he should start his weekend. He isn't great, but he has been improving week to week even though he is still winless. However, if the reports are true and Orlovsky is out for 4 weeks, then I think they should give Stanton a shot. The coaching staff keeps saying he's not ready, but can we really trust their judgement? They haven't been able to put a winning team out on the field; what makes you think they know how to evaluate talent. I think the Lions organization owes it to the fans to show them what we've got in Stanton. We have nothing to lose, and they need to see what this kid is capable of. That being said, what I think the Lions will actually do would be to start Culpepper. Here's why...nothing the Lions do makes much sense. They bring this guy out of retirement and he will be getting 3 practices in this week prior to the game on Sunday. Talk about a crash course! Culpepper has to learn an entirely new offense in one week. He's not going to be ready; there's no way that's possible. But maybe because he's a "talented veteran player", he'll be able to just come in and play like an all-star. YEAH RIGHT!! Maybe after a couple weeks of practice he could be an improvement over Orlovsky and Kitna, but I think it's a terrible, terrible mistake if the Lions try to start Culpepper this week. If they do start him and he does a bad job due to the fact that he's not prepared, the fans will give up on this team. Everyone seems to be fed up with "changes" that don't seem to produce any results...

To take our minds off the debacle that is the Lions, let's take a look at the positive things happening in Detroit sports...

Pistons - today Allen Iverson is being announced as the newest member of the Detroit Pistons. We have to say farewell to Billups, but I think this trade is fantastic....and here's why...

(1) We cleared up a ton of cap room. Now, when it comes time to go shopping for free agents, we've got plenty to spend. $$ Dare I say it, there's a chance we could get LeBron?? There's rumors swirling around that with this move, Mr. Dumars has set the Pistons up to be in the running for signing Mr. James when he is a free agent. Not only do we have enough money to offer him a big chunk of change, but we have enough money to say to him - "if you come play for us, tell us who you want to play with and we'll get him because we have the money". LeBron has voiced his frustration about not having good players surrounding him...imagine what he could accomplish with the support of phenomonal teammates. If Joe D can pull this off, the Pistons will be amazing! Just take a second to think about what it would be like to have James, Iverson, Hamilton, Stuckey, Johnson, etc., etc. That would be an exciting season!

(2) It's rare that you can find a trade that both improves your outlook for future seasons, and improves your chances of making a playoff run in the current season. Usually when trades are made it accomplishes one or the other. Hats off to Joe Dumars for masterminding this situation.

(3) This is selfish, but I just think Iverson is a ton of fun to watch, and I'm excited to see what he can do with Rip and Stuckey. See ya later Chauncey...time for a new Mr. Big Shot in this town!

Red Wings - Six of our Detroit Red Wings have been named to the ballot for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game. No surprise there. The Red Wings on the ballot are defensemen Nicklas Lidstrom and Brian Rafalski, forwards Pavel Datsyuk, Henrik Zetterberg and Marian Hossa, and goalie Chris Osgood. Once again, no surprise there. The Red Wings are amazing. Everytime I look at their lineup I have to pinch myself. This team is full of selfless, amazingly talented, hard working, passionate athletes...what more could a fan possibly want?? I think it is very admirable that several players have taken less money to play in Detroit than what they were offered elsewhere simply because they want to play for this amazing organization. That's what sports should be about! Players should play for the love of the game and the desire to be great and to win championships...not just for the biggest contract and the most money. The entire Red Wings organization is an inspiration. Salary caps were designed to keep teams from being as stacked as the Wings, but due to the selflessness and drive of the players involved Ken Holland has been able to put together a truly amazing team full of spectacular athletes.

Sunday, November 2, 2008

Week 9 - Picks & Preview

Well, I've been slacking off and am a little late getting my picks and previews posted this week. My only excuse is that it was Halloween weekend, and there were so many important things to do to prepare for a fun night out...fro-ing my hair, applying countless temporary tattoos, etc, etc. But, better late than never, and here I go...

(1) Detroit Lions at Chicago - I usually try to stay away from picking a Lions game, and here's why...they are terrible and will most likely get blown out. However, each and every week, I like to try to hold onto a tiny sliver of hope that this might be the week...the week my Lions get a win, the week my Lions look like they might be able to start acting like a real football team. But, if I include them in my picks, then I have to face the reality that they truly are absolutely horrible and not only are they going to lose the game, but they're probably not going to even cover the 13 point spread! Orton is about to have a career day this afternoon. This year, 6 out of 7 QB's have had a career passer rating when they play the Lions - that is pathetic! I had to chuckle this morning when on the radio (on a national broadcast, not local), this comment was made - "If it weren't for Cincinnati, this Lions team would be the worst team we've ever seen!" The Lions are the butt of the NFL...it is laughable how terrible they truly are. We did get Culpepper for two years, but what good is that really going to do?? Only time will tell. My pick is Chicago, but as I said after last weeks debacle in my picks, I'm going the opposite of what I think is actually going to happen - so Detroit it is at +13!

(2) Miami at Denver - Denver is -4 this week as they host the Fish. The Broncos defense is almost as bad as the Lions. The Lions have allowed 212 points, and the Broncos have allowed 195. Based on the average points allowed per game, Detroit is ranked 32...shocker, I know, but Denver, ranked 29, isn't to far ahead of the Lions on the defensive side of the game (Miami is ranked 12). However, Denver has a potent offense that can put up points and that's how the win games. They're not going to stop teams, but other teams can't stop them either. The Fish have been a wild card this year. After being absolutely terrible last year, the Fish have surprised a lot of people with their vast improvements. They are not a great team by any stretch of the word, but definitely much improved over last season. I want to take the points and the better defense, but I'm probably wrong, so Denver is my pick.

(3) Jets at Bills - I have to pick the Bills game...absolutely love this team, even though they let me down last week (hey, in order to avoid depression, I have to find another team to cheer for after the Lions disappoint me every week). The Jets are getting 5.5 in this matchup, but after last weeks performance, I don't think they'll cover. The Bills are much tougher than KC, and the Bills are coming off a disappointing loss to the Fish. The Bills will be fighting to win this game, and I foresee a pick the house in Favre's future! I want my pick to be the Bills, but since I think that, then it'll be the Jets. The Jets are my pick.

Unfortunately, I only have time to do 3 games this week...hopefully my luck will turn around this week and I'll get all of them right - or in an ironic twist of fate, I will get them all wrong because I would have been right if I picked what I actually wanted to pick! Who knows...

One last comment...Texas vs Tech game last night...truly amazing! Talk about great football. Tech's D was ferocious. Colt McCoy was on his back so many times (sacked 17 times 112 yard) and the #1 team seemed like they couldn't get past Tech's defense no matter what they tried. I couldn't believe what I was seeing...it looked as though Tech could possibly blow out Texas! In the second half, Texas made it an exciting game - taking the lead for the first time in the game with just over a minute left in the 4th quarter. But Tech prevailed when Harrell passed to Crabtree for a game ending TD. The fans swarmed onto the field with one second left in the game!