Monday, December 22, 2008

Joke of the Day

Hey everyone...I've got a joke of the day. Two words - Detroit Lions.

I have to joke about it...the only way to get past my Lions induced depression is to laugh. This season has been a complete and total joke. The Lions are the laughing stock of the NFL - if you can even call them an NFL team. Aside from the pathetic displays on the field, the Lions have had the Tatum Bell/Rudi Johnson bag incident, Raiola erupting at the fans, and a coach who skillfully uses metaphors to confuse the listener and avoid answering the questions posed by the press. It pains me to say it, but the Lions organization as a whole is absolutely terrible. I know they have not been a very good team for quite a few years, but this is the lowest of the low. In years past, the Lions have given fans at least a little glimmer of hope - a reason to cheer, a reason to get excited about going to a game, a reason not to change the channel after halftime. I unfortunately attended the game against the Saints this weekend...pitiful. The only reason I went to the game is I hated to see my tickets go to waste - unfortunately, even though I attended the game, the tickets were still a waste. As evidenced by the final score of 42-7, the Lions couldn't stop the Saints if their lives depended on it.

However, as bleak as things may seem, my optimism is never ending - slightly dilusional...maybe, but never ending. Two bright spots in the Lions organization - Calvin Johnson and Kevin Smith. These boys are fun to watch - and pretty much the only thing I paid attention to this year. Johnson is amazingly talented. I almost feel bad for him that he is stuck on a team like the Lions. Send that guy anywhere else and he would be on his way to becoming hall of famer. Kevin Smith - he's a little rough right now, but I like what I see. He's explosive and quick. If we can get an O-line to open up holes for that guy, he'll be unstoppable.

One thing is certain...there needs to be a clean sweep made throughout the organization. New management, new coaches...and - most importantly - Bill, Sr. needs to retire. Let Jr. take a crack at it. At least he wants to win! Bill, Sr. is ignorant - he wants to keep Lewand & Mayhew, he hasn't made a decision about Marinelli. Seriously! Are you kidding me...what's to decide!?!?! We've lost 22 of the last 23 games coached by Marinelli...does he really need another season to see if Marinelli is going to work out as a coach? He has no idea how to run a team and as long as he is in charge I'm afraid we're never going to have a great team.

No comments: